Emotional Sacrifices

Combined, Brock and I have spent twenty-six of the last twenty-four hours sleeping. I think our summer is finally catching up with us.

One of my favorite ways to take advantage of the summer schedule and weather is by going to shows. This weekend I had the privilege of partaking in a show by The Tallest Man on Earth. I say partaking, because there really is no other way to describe the experience of being invited into a musician’s very raw emotional world, and then being left there to sort through his emotions yourself. It is both exhausting and exhilarating.

As my mind is an un-caffinated muddled mess right now, I will not get into all that I processed yesterday after the show. I just thought, being Tuesday, I should share my most recent live musical experience with you.

Here is one of my favorite songs sung by this sensational Swede. Please remember hearing a live performance is nothing like experiencing a live performance. In fact, it’s somewhat annoying. But stick around past the minute mark when he actually starts singing, and try to believe what he feels.

I will never tire of being invited into musicians’ worlds or being a recipient of the emotional sacrifices they make in live performance. I am, however, getting tired (9 pm bedtime, merely 4 hours after waking from my 3 hour nap? Don’t mind if I do).

Leave a Reply

