Ella’s House of Nightmares

It takes a lot to scare me.

I usually credit my maiden name for my sense of fearlessness. Growing up with the last name Kruger, I felt like it was my duty to be the one doing the scaring. It just didn’t make sense for me to be scared.

I love scary movies, haunted houses, ghost stories, and the like. In fact, I tried to start creepy clown collection in college, but the idea was quickly vetoed by my roommate who kept a dream journal, and didn’t want to have it turn into a script for Killer Klown Part 2.

It shouldn’t surprise you, then, that I thought I had closed my eyes and gone to my happy place when I discovered Ella’s Deli and Ice Cream Parlor in Madison, Wisconsin a couple weeks ago.

The locals refer to Ella’s Deli as “Ella’s House of Nightmares”.

Anything that has shown up in your nightmares, is most likely able to be found somewhere in the restaurant. Visa versa, anything in Ella’s that has not yet shown up in your nightmares, will tonight. I mean, just look at this stuff.

Apparently some people have nightmares about the game “This little piggy went to market” and singing bananas.

It’s almost adorable how Ella doesn’t realize she’s a freak. Kind of like Willow, circa Seasons One and Two (What?? You don’t have Buffy the Vampire Slayer fan blogs bookmarked? Get on that!). There’s just something endearing about an unassuming freak.

I should mention something about the food, seeing that Ella’s is, after all, an eatery.

Ella boasts a twelve page dessert menu. THAT’S TWELVE PAGES OF POTENTIAL SUGAR HIGHS Y’ALL!! Talk about a nightmare. But, as all nightmares are, it’s unavoidable. Therefore, I recommend going with one of their in-house flavors of ice cream or sorbet, as this was the only part of the actual dining worth writing about.

As it turns out, you really don’t have to be a Kruger to enjoy the ridicu-fest that is Ella’s House of Nightmares. Check it out for yourself! Just don’t say I didn’t warn you. (Mwahahahah…)

One comment

Leave a Reply

