Robin Hood and Friends

This past week has been a particularly rough one. (I’ll quickly relieve you of that uncomfortable is-she-about-to-bear-her-soul feeling you’re experiencing in your stomach, and tell you that the details are not important. What’s important is how I chose to respond to those details.)

On weeks like this, there are a few options I usually consider:

  • Writing a song for the Alanis Morissette comeback album I’ve been working on for the past couple of years
  • Scheduling additional therapy sessions
  • Taking up smoking (because it’s a much cheaper option than therapy)
  • Eating until I can’t stuff another bite in my mouth, and then pulling out the hidden Swiss chocolate bar I’ve been saving for an emergency, and challenging my already full stomach to a to-the-death match
  • Peeing in the woods

This week, the last option sounded most therapeutic. (You may remember me mentioning that my previously limited definition of adventure included either passports or extra stashes of toilet paper.) So, Brock and I decided to grab our tent and a roll of toilet paper, and head for the woods.

I’m never sure where Brock disappears to on these adventures, but that seems inconsequential when I’m introduced to exciting new travel partners. Sit back and enjoy the following slide show to see all the partners I adventured in the woods with this weekend.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Spending a couple days in nature (and by “in nature”, I’m talking the snakes-slithering-in-between-your-legs kind of nature…true story) is possibly the most effective way to strip away life’s chaos and just be.

(Also, I highly recommend it if you’re needing a renewed appreciation for the pull-out sofa you call your bed.)

Leave a Reply

