Whitney

Over the past couple of years, Minneapolis has become a home away from home. My weekend wanderings in Minneapolis serve as a soul vacation for me, allowing me the space and community in which to diffuse. Every time I visit, I leave feeling refreshed and ready to take on the world again.

Although there is much about this city I love, most of the refreshment comes from my friends. For example, let me introduce you to Whitney.

I called Whitney last week to tell her I was going to be “home” this weekend. (We refer to each other as part-time roommates.) I pulled onto Pierce Street just as she was getting off work. My bedroom was all ready for me, and my toothbrush was exactly where I had left it in the toothbrush holder. Whitney had just finished a long work week, so she decided to stay home Friday night while I went out with a group of friends. While I was out, she texted to tell me she was going to bed, but to check the fridge when I got home because there was a muffin with my name on it. (When she says it had my name on it, she literally meant that she had labeled a muffin especially for me. A muffin filled with gluten-free goodness.)

Breakfast at Whitney’s

I would like to say I get special treatment from Whitney, but truth is, this is not abnormal. Whitney makes everyone feel like they are the most important person in the world.

Although I love exploring this city (or any city for that matter) by myself, my adventures here are much more wonderful because of my friends. This year when I blow out my birthday candles, I will wish for you all to have your very own Whitney.

One comment

  1. Beautiful, Celeste. Absolutely beautiful. I consider myself extremely lucky to not just have a Whitney, but THE Whitney. And of course all the wonderful friends that come with her.

Leave a Reply

